Smiling baby Happy baby and mother Fingerpainting Happy baby and mother Girl eating yogurt Girls smiling

Welcome to Pediatrix Patients are the focus of our attention. Call Pediatrix today at
(602) 866-0550. Contact Us

Arizona Car Seat Laws for Kids

According to Safe Kids Worldwide, road injuries are the #1 cause of unintentional death for children in the United States. As such, child safety restraint laws are strictly enforced. Here’s what you need to know about Arizona regulations:

Kids below age 5

You can use an infant car seat if your kid is 29” or shorter, or a convertible seat for a kid between 29” and 40”. Infants should always have their seats facing the rear of the car. The seats can be turned once they are a year old.

Kids between 5-8 years/ below 4 feet 9 inches

If your child falls under this category, get them a booster seat. If you are not sure how to use it, contact a certified child passenger safety technician. A list of professionals in your area is usually available at your doctor’s office or the local police department. Once your child is 8 years old or over 4 feet 9 inches, they can move to adult car restraints. However, if the child meets the age requirement but does not attain the height requirement, they might need to continue using the booster seat.

Children below the age of 12 should always ride in the back.Never put a car seat in the front. If your car does not allow for this, be sure to disable the air bags. Complying with these laws not only helps you avoid fines, it prevents serious injuries and death.

Posted in Blog on November 4th, 2016